Wednesday

Leaving Before It's Over Book Tour

Leaving Before It's Over: A Novel
The following book description is from Harper-Collins:  A deeply compelling novel that explores the true meaning of family, Leaving Before It’s Over is masterful and provocative fiction from Jean Reynolds Page, the author of The Space Between Before and After and The Last Summer of Her Other Life. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Jacquelyn Mitchard will be moved and enthralled by Page’s Leaving Before It’s Over, as a 1970s family is thrown into turmoil when a previously unknown son and brother is brought into the fold.

Book Description
When Roy Vines married his wife, Rosalind, he traded his family and his inheritance for love—a painful choice that has blessed them with years of joy nestled in rural North Carolina with their beautiful daughters, sixteen-year-old Lola and little Janie Ray.
But their happiness is threatened when Rosalind suddenly falls ill. Desperate to get her the help she needs, Roy does the one thing he swore he'd never do—turn to his heartless and bitter identical twin brother, Mont, for help.
The price is steep—and includes opening their home to a teenage boy who believes Roy is the father who abandoned him. As bad blood threatens to destroy her family, Rosalind must make a difficult choice. Should she walk away—like Roy once did—for love, or try to mend wounds that may never be healed? And will the pain of choosing be more than her heart can bear?

My Take on the book: The Family Unit is stronger than I diamond yet as fragile as tissue paper.  When in turmoil your strength is tested.  All that we do stays with us one way or another.  For some, their past creeps back to them and then a myirad of events happen that will either strengthen or tear away at the life they've created.

This book was a page turner!  Flip, flip, flip I zoomed through the book, engrossed into the family life Roy and Rosalind had created.  From the beginning, it took us into this family and how they are dealing with a sick wife with a blood disorder and a husband that has to go back into his past and deal with family blood.  This book was well crafted and creating many double-barreled, mirrored issues.  Can Roy take on his past "family" baggage and triumphed against it, again? Can Rosalind, being sick, fight to save herself and her family?

I loved the characters that author, Jean Reynolds created. They were clearly defined and I could easily pair them up with people from my past and present.  Some you love, some you vow to stay away from, forever!  The book doesn't include a Reading Guide but you can access one online.  This would be a great book to read with a few girlfriends!

GIVEAWAY (over)
1 copy

To enter: Leave a comment about your family- anything you want to share. Include your email address with this entry.

Bonus entries: (5 entries each)
*Follow my blog-right side bar

*Check out the up and coming TLC Book Tours and leave a comment about one of the books

*Tweet the giveaway "Giveaway- Leaving Before It's Over- Testing the strength of the Family http://bit.ly/DontLeave "

*Follow @Susieqtpies and @TLCBookTours on Twitter

Giveaway ends September 11th. USA
Hop onto the blog tour and stop & see what others thought of this book through the TLC Book Tour.

Monday, August 23rd: Books in the City
Wednesday, August 25th: Scraps of Life
Tuesday, August 31st: Rundpinne
Thursday, September 2nd: Colloquium
Friday, September 3rd: Reading at the Beach
Tuesday, September 7th: Lisa’s Yarns
Thursday, September 9th: Shhh I’m Reading
Monday, September 13th: CafĂ© of Dreams
Tuesday, September 14th: Bookstack
Wednesday, September 15th: Book Club Classics!
Wednesday, September 22nd: Jenn’s Bookshelves



TLC Book Tours provided the book for me to read.  Thoughts expressed in "my take on the book" are my own tasty words and opinions.  

46 comments:

  1. Oh wow. I love book on Family. I'll have to get this one. Thanks for the great review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really liked this one too and found it so easy to read! Thanks for stopping my blog earlier today.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooh I love the idea of you matching up characters with people from your own life - that could be fun!

    Thank for being a part of the tour. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the book. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. This book sounds great. What a decision Roy had to make, and then he makes it again for love!
    One never knows when they are well off. My hubby has had Parkinson's for 27 years. So I know about making decisions...although there isn't money involved!

    alekee02[at]yahoo[dot]com

    ReplyDelete
  5. I am a follower of your blog!

    alekee02[at]yahoo[dot]com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I follow @Susieqtpies on twitter!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I follow @TLCBookTours on Twitter

    ReplyDelete
  8. I left a comment on TLC Book Tour for
    "The Blessings of The Animals" by Katrina Kittle.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I have 10 more for my comment on Jon Whitney Pottery.

    ReplyDelete
  10. My family is as crazy as the next one, but we are blended to the 9's now. Divorce/marriage/step kids/step siblings...I wouldnt change any of it for the world!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I have a beautiful family consisting of my wonderful husband of 38 years, my beautiful 33 year old daughter & my handsome 30 year old son. My son is getting married soon so our wish for grandchildren might be granted. We would be awesome grandparents... so we tell them!
    I would love to read this. Thanks,

    ruthiekb72@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  12. My hubby and I were engages after knowing each other for only a month and a day, and we got married 5 1/2 months after that! That was almost 5 years ago now and we have a son, and hope to add more kids soon! ;)
    reynoldsmommy at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  13. Even though my family(parents and sisters and cousins) have has been a huge part of my life my new family (hubby & kids) packed up and moved 500 miles away!

    ReplyDelete
  14. my husband is a huge political buff I never heard of Game Change so I'l have to get it for him!

    ReplyDelete
  15. tweet tweet!
    http://twitter.com/jameeklement/status/24201412181

    ReplyDelete
  16. We're a lovely little multi-cultural family. Jamaican, Irish and German.
    lolaviebyamber@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  17. I'm following your blog via GFC.
    lolaviebyamber@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  18. I just put probably half of the books on the Tour List in my Wishlist!! And I bought 'Be Love Now'!
    lolaviebyamber@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  19. I tweeted about the giveaway.
    http://twitter.com/Lolavie_Amber/status/24207298753
    lolaviebyamber@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  20. I follow @Susieqtpies on Twitter. (@Lolavie_Amber)
    lolaviebyamber@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  21. I follow @TLCBookTours on Twitter. (@Lolavie_Amber)
    lolaviebyamber@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  22. My family unit is very tight--we spend alot of time together and we make sure that quality time is a must :)

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  23. follow via GFC :)

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  24. follow via GFC :) entry 2

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  25. follow via GFC :) entry 3

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  26. follow via GFC :) entry 4

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  27. follow via GFC :) entry 5

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  28. one of the books i like is "Be Love Now" and is a spiritual book that sound intriguing--would love to read the rest of it :)

    marci
    tristatecruisers at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  29. Congrats, Comment #4 Maureen won!

    alekee02[at]yahoo[dot]com

    ReplyDelete
  30. Congrats, Comment #4 Maureen won!

    alekee02[at]yahoo[dot]com

    ReplyDelete
  31. The stories of struggles are always the best stories! This book sounds wonderful, I've really got to pick it up next time I'm out!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for stopping in at SusieQTpies Cafe! We are serving up family, food & fun!

Please leave a comment so that I can stop over and visit your blog.

FYI I approve every comment before it is published because of the SPAM issue. Don't be alarmed if you comment doesn't show up immediately.

Have a great day!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Blog Archive

Blogging tips